December 2, 2019, Special Township Board Meeting

Attendance: Clerk Lita Wallace

Guests: Dale Brooks, Douglas Dressen, Lisa Klassen, Paul Klassen, Charles Kuettel, Gordy Larson, Scott Mead, Glen Nelson, Donald Swanstrom, Ted Wallace

Meeting called to order: Clerk Wallace called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Election of a moderator: Dale Brooks and Scott Mead were nominated as Moderator. Votes were counted and Mead was elected.

Three sets of documents were provided to attendees:

  1. Public Notice of the Statement of the Town Board Calling for a Special Town Meeting;
  2. Letter from St. Louis County Planning and Community Development Department with the Proposed Revisions to St. Louis County Zoning Ordinance 62;
  3. Letter of Recommendation submitted by Pequaywan Town Board on September 17, 2019.

The Agenda states that the purpose of the Special Town Meeting were as follows: review St. Louis County’s currently proposed short term rental of properties; discuss revising the Letter of Recommendation by Pequaywan Township to St. Louis County Planning Commission; and adopting a Resolution for the Town of Pequaywan.

There was a long discussion and the attendees agreed to shorten the Recommendations to seven (7). The Town Board has to vote on it on a Resolution during the December 10th Town Board Meeting. Since there is not much time between the Town Board meeting on December 10th and the deadline date of December 12th to submit a Resolution to St. Louis County, Moderator Mead suggested to submit a Recommendation Letter with a note that a Resolution will be submitted on or before December 12th.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,
Lita Wallace, Town Clerk