March 9, 2021, Annual Town Meeting in-person

Meeting called to order: Town clerk Lita Wallace called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. The meeting was held at the Pequaywan Fire Hall.

Attendance: Lita Wallace, Dan Ahonen, Amber Cruz, Scott Gronseth, Ross Gustafson, Charles Kuettel, Phyllis Mead, Scott Mead, Donald Swanstrom, Shane Stolp, Lynne Scalzo and  Ted Wallace

Election of a moderator: Phyllis Mead was nominated and elected as the moderator

Announce Agenda for Rest of Meeting (moderator, subject to modification by vote of electorate): no change

2020 Minutes: Motion to approve minutes of previous year’s Annual Meeting Minutes (copies provided by clerk): Charles Kuettel motioned to approve 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes, seconded by Scott Gronseth, motion carried

Reading of the Board of Audit Report as posted by clerk prior to meeting

Annual Board of Appeals and Equalization: scheduled on May 5, 2021, 3:00-4:00 p.m. via teleconference

Result of Township Election: Wallace reported that there is one supervisor position open for election. 59 mail-in/absentee ballots were received out of 148 resident voters. Charles Kuettel was elected with 59 votes.

Pequaywan Town Chair’s Road Report for West Branch Road:  Chair Charles Kuettel reported that the culvert remains a concern and will need replacement in the near future. There has been ongoing concern about the dead/dying trees along the road. The township will have to work with landowners to address the removal of the dead/dying trees.

New clerk and new treasurer effective March 10, 2021: Amber Cruz and Lynne Scalzo have been appointed as clerk and treasurer respectively. Lita Wallace will stay as deputy clerk and Raymond Barnes as deputy treasurer for one year.

Update, suggestions and discussion on possible projects for the land owned by the township in Rossini Road, including the tax forfeited property purchased from St Louis County. Plans for tree and brush drop-off was discussed for the months of May, June and July. No dates were set.

2022 Levy: Discussion and motion to approve general levy and any dedicated levies (road & bridge, plus others determined helpful to treat as designated and not just a budget item Pequaywan Fire & EMS in the amount of $16,500.00. The levy was motioned for approval by Kuettel and seconded by Gronseth, motion carried.

General Fund $18,000.00 $18,060.00
Road and Bridges (On-going Maintenance) $3,600.00 $3,500.00

Maintenance Fund

$2,000.00 $2,000.00
Fire and EMS $16,500.00 $16,500.00
Roads and Bridges (Capital Reserve) $15,000.00 $15,000.00
Total $55,100.00 $55,060.00

  Other years’ financials

General Fund $12,000.00 $15,500.00
Road and Bridges (On-going Maintenance) $3,000.00 $3,000.00
Fire and EMS $16,500.00 $16,500.00
Building/Property Maintenance Fund $0.00 $1,500.00
Roads and Bridges (Capital Reserve) 12,000.00 10,000.00
Total 43,500.00 49,500.00


General Fund $  5,000.00 $19,000.00 $25,600.57 $29,195.82
Road and Bridge (On-going Maintenance $3,000.00 $  2,500.00 $  5,518.96 $  3,242.50
Fire and EMS $15,000.00 $5,000.00 $15,020.82 $15,000.00

Maintenance Fund

$0.00 $0.00 $1,500.00 $0.00
Roads and Bridges (Capital Reserve) $12,000.00 $  5,000.00 $7,485.12 $0.00
Total $35,000.00 $41,500.00 $55,125.47 $47,438.32

2022 Annual Town Meeting: the state set the Annual Town Meeting on the second Tuesday of March following the Township Election. The Annual Town Meeting will be held at the Pequaywan Fire Hall.

Motion to set monthly Town Board Meeting date and time: Don Swanstrom motioned to set the Town Board meeting on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. at the Pequaywan Fire Hall. The motion was seconded by Shane Stolp. All were in favor, motion carried. Exception of March meeting to be scheduled after the Annual Town Meeting.

Motion to set voting place: Ross Gustafson motioned to set Pequaywan Fire Hall as the primary voting place; and Pequaywan Trail Blazer Snowmobile Club as a possible secondary voting place (once they are contacted for confirmation)

Motion to set voting times:
7:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m., Presidential Nomination Primary Election, Primary Election and General Election
7:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m., State Election
10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m., Special Primary Election and Special General Election
5:00 p.m. – 8:00p.m., Township Election

Scott Mead motioned to set the voting times listed, seconded by Ross Gustafson, all in favor, motioned carried

Posting areas:
-Pequaywan Association website:
-West Branch Road Sign board
-Pequaywan Fire & EMS bulletin board
-Pequaywan Inn bulletin board

General Discussion of Items of Concern:
Shane Stolp inquired about the teleconference Township Board meetings and the accessibility of the phone number and passcode. Both the number and the passcode are posted on the Pequaywan Association website:

Adjourn: Charles Kuettel motioned to adjourn the Annual Town Meeting at 8:09 p.m., seconded by Scott Gronseth, all in favor, motion carried

Respectively submitted by,
Amber Cruz, deputy clerk
Lita Wallace, clerk